I read this week the story of “the parable of the sower“, it’s a well known story and Jesus explains the meaning pretty well, but I started thinking about how effective blogs are, and a friend of mine who has started blogging a little more, wrote a blog post about how he felt about blogging and his thought process of whether he should keep blogging or stop.  You can find his blog here

The parable talks about

  • The sower sowing the word (message)
  • The seeds falling on the road represent those who hear the word but dismiss it straight away – the wicked one (Satan) is what takes the word away
  • The seeds falling on the rocks represent those who hear the word, but only accept it shallowly – these sorts of people reject the word as soon as it causes them affliction or persecution.
  • The seeds falling on thorns represent those who hear the word, and take it to heart, but allow worldly concerns, such as money, to choke it.
  • The seeds falling on good soil represents those who hear the word, and truly understand it, causing it to bear fruit.

I am not comparing my blogs to Jesus, (nor would I even think that people would even consider the idea)!  But I do wonder whether my/other blogs are treated like this.

I/someone blog(s) about what they feel they want to share/encourage/discuss and how is the content treated?

  • not even read properly- nothing sinks in, you don’t feel it’s relevant or interesting?
  • you skimread as you haven’t got much time, still nothing is taken on board
  • you take time to read the post (thanks by the way!) but you forget about whatever was said within a few hours?
  • You read it and some part of it actually challenges your thought process! But it changes nothing and your life is no different!
  • You take on board something that was written and you talk about it with others because it actually changed how you perceive a situation or deal with what life throws at you!

I do get encouraged when I see people reading what I have to say, and I hope something I say/write strikes a chord with someone. I enjoy seeing how people end up on my blog, the record of what was searched for amuses me sometimes.  I only write these blogs because otherwise I would be like Lord Byron who apparently said:-

“If I don’t write to empty my mind, I go mad.”

Hopefully my blogs don’t come across as incoherent ramblings, and some may say that they do! But if anything I do say/write is encouraging or challenging to you then I have done what I set out to do!  Please comment on a post if you ever want to disagree or challenge my opinions I am also willing to rethink how I see life!

 

