I regularly receive emails from Avaaz, who apparently have over 16 million members, they regularly petition against injustices and big corporations trying to affect our world, they played a big part in reigning in Rupert Murdoch’s empire, or so they claim! A recent petition found here spoke about a real life corporate “death-star“, apparently over 600 corporations, or people with vested interest, have signed an agreement to “take over the world!” with the ability to sue governments, if they don’t get the decision that they want! I did sign this one and then was discussing it later with some of my family, and one of them said “Why petition? If it is going to happen it will happen!” We also got onto the discussion about the petition to “keep marriage special“, homosexual couples are already able to have civil ceremonies, but being recognised as a marriage is a totally different thing!

As a heterosexual (despite what some may have said or thought about me as I grew up!), I do not fully understand the struggles, that the LGBT community have in their daily lives.  I am not going to comment on their lifestyles or choices but I do wonder what effect changing the definition of the legal construct of “Marriage” will do to society? Will it really allow polygamy or incest As some Bishops are suggesting?

“If the only basis for marriage is the desire of the parties to get married then there is, according to the logic of this proposal, no reason not to open up marriage to more than just same-sex couples. Polygamy, polyandry and incest would all be permissible.”

Is a national petition to ensure “Marriage” stays “one man, one woman” an effective use of Christians’ time? Is the constant bickering between Gay rights and the “Church” conducive to Christians sharing the good news that Jesus died for us all!  Does the commandment to “love one another as I have loved you” condemn our approach to this issue, or is it a matter of standing up for what we believe?  Are there morals which are being eroded daily? What would Jesus do? He didn’t make a “song and dance” about the woman at the well, he spoke to her gently “You know what’s wrong, I know what’s wrong, follow me!” Or the woman accused of adultery, a crowd built up wanting to stone her for her sin and Jesus drew a line in the sand-

“Alright then whoever has never done anything wrong, stand here and throw a stone!”

No one remained! Are you surprised? Imagine it again, a couple are standing there in their wedding attire wanting to be married, they love each other, they want to spend the rest of their lives together, but they are homosexual, so 1000 people calling themselves “Christians” feel that they have the right to be standing there yelling “sinner“, “your behaviour is abhorrent“, “We can exorcise you of the demonic activity inside you!” and then Jesus says

Ok, whoever has never lied, whoever has not looked at another person and thought “I wouldn’t kick them out of bed!”, whoever has not stolen even a bit of stationery from the office or called someone a derogatory name in anger, stand here and continue your statements!

Who could stand? Who would actually have the guts to stand there next to the holy son of God and say those things? They aren’t loving, they are not words that are encouraging!

We all have opinions, I know that I can be very opinionated, we all have things that wind us up, get on our nerves, people we cannot stand to be around!  Is it conducive to be like Sheldon Cooper (The Big Bang Theory) and have a list of 65 mortal enemies? When I think about whether I have anyone that resembles an “enemy“, I know that I need to stop and ask for help from Christ, to react in a way that gives glory to God and not to make anyone say “typical christian!” or “And he calls himself a christian?!

If you are a parent, it does get tiresome when your children are back and forth saying “daddy/mummy (childs name) Hit me!/said…..!/won’t let me have…!” and it is always when you are trying to sort something out too!

I wonder how God sees it, he doesn’t need to stop, as he is omnipresent, but how do we talk to him? Is it like a child with their Christmas wish list, that they have compiled from TV adverts?  Is it like a whine or a moan? Or even a mooing sound that my son seems to make? (I keep threatening to build a cowshed for him one day!)

There is a situation that I am working through, and I don’t want to be considered “whingey” or like a child saying “its not fair!” but I know I need to raise it and deal with it! The bible says

“Do everything without complaining or arguing so that you will be blameless and pure, children of the lord, without fault in a crooked generation”

So does that mean we shouldn’t complain? Does that mean we shouldn’t protest when injustice happens? I love that the If campaign is gaining momentum, and promoting awareness via twitter and social media is great! But unless we actually use our voices and stand up against the injustice, against what is not right, then we are surely like a feather in the wind, occasionally seen but of little impact on the world!  We need to be as

“wise as serpents and innocent as doves!”

How we deal with problems should be a sign to others of the peace, gentleness and respect that the Holy Trinity has with us!  I am not the greatest person at dealing with conflict, and I regularly think of the right answer or response hours after I needed it!  Sometimes taking a moment to consider all angles, and calm down is a good idea, knee jerk reactions are rarely a productive act! Before you get revenge, walk  a mile in the other person’s shoes, then you will be a mile away and have their shoes!

