I have been thinking about doing a blog post saying how lucky i am to have a heavenly and earthly father who are amazing, comparing their similarities and differences, our church recently shared a document with the congregation which mentioned all the verses about how much god loves us like his children.

I started to wonder, how much do I live up to God’s standards of parenthood? How do I measure up to my own earthly father?

  • My father(s) love unconditionally!
  • My father(s) are always there when i am in need!
  • My father(s) would do anything for their children, to benefit us, one is more than capable, one does as best as he is physically able
  • My father(s) have faced adversity and ridicule but have been triumphant and steadfast despite of it.

I know my faults, i sometimes look back and regret things i have not done with my children, the reality of working hard, studying on courses and helping my wife keep the house clean and tidy, whilst still finding time to spend quality moments with my children is a challenge.
I had the pleasure of spending the morning at my children’s school as they ran a morning for dads uncle’s and granddads to come and see what their primary school aged relatives did at the school.

It felt so good, being able to see how nifty my son was kicking a football around and how my daughter could code and create instructions for little sprites on the Macbook screen. Then this morning my 2 year old showed me how to make my fit bit perform as a stopwatch and activity monitor!

I look around and have come across a variety of families with a mix of:-

*single mothers doing their best,
* absent fathers coming along and messing with the kids heads.
*step dads and/or partners of the mothers not helping to raise the children but being selfish.

I am glad that I have had two incredible examples of how to father and love those who you are responsible for, I don’t know whether my children will look back in 20 years time and think about me in the same way, all I can do is try to listen, discipline when it Is needed and be there when they need me, and hopefully they too will have a relationship with the same heavenly father and a close relationship with their earthly one too!

