I was gonna read a bedtime story to my children, when we decided to tell the Story of Joseph but telling it in the first person, so here is my attempt at retelling the story of Adam.

So my name is "Adam", according to my best and only friend, he created me! "how?" you ask?  From the soil and his breath! I know, sounds crazy, but I am here! So there I was, walking around this garden and my friend kept asking me, "what  shall we call this?" "What shall we call that?", I suggested ideas which he accepted, as I walked around the garden with him, I suddenly felt lonely and a little overwhelmed with the idea of having to look after all of these animals and plants on my own!

So my friend said "I think you need a companion who has a physical body similar to yours", I thought the idea was amazing right until he said "I will have to take one of your ribs to make her!" Thinking for a second, I suggested that I be put to sleep for this operation, so he put me to sleep and made her.  When I woke up she looked perfect, of course she would, my friend made her, she was the most beautiful woman in the world!

As I showed my new companion around, telling her about the animals, I pointed out a remarkable tree which looked amazing and its fruit looked so tempting, I informed her that it was the only fruit we were not allowed to eat. In response to her confused face, I explained that it was for our own benefit that we not eat any fruit off that tree, there are certain things that we don't need to know, and that tree would give us that knowledge!

As I was feeding some of the animals, I saw my companion chatting away to another animal, I didn't like the look of the creepy thing but she was in deep conversation with it, before I could stop Eve, she reached up and grabbed a piece of fruit off the tree, , she took a bitelooking pleased with herself she offered me some.  Apart from a distant look in her eyes, she was unchanged.

When my friend came back, he called out "Adam? Eve? where are you?" It was then that we both realised something, we were naked!  How did we not know this already?!  We felt ashamed of what we had done, but shame was a feeling new to both of us!

My friend asked us what had happened, I blamed Eve, she blamed the creature and the creature just tried to sliver away but he was seen! Calling us all back, we could hear our friend was upset with us, we had ruined the perfection of our environment, damaged the relationship we had with this creative loving person and had to take the consequences of our actions.

Firstly he spoke to the creature, condemning it to a life of torment and suffering,  I was told that I would be working hard to grow crops and look after my wife and any offspring, one day returning to the ground from where I came, as we brought death and decay into the world, Eve would be in pain during childbirth and all females who followed would want a husband, and would have to be ruled over by males.

My friend still loved us enough to make us clothing but then told us that we were banished from this perfect garden, never to return!  Although my friend was never far away, from then on he never felt as close to us as he did in the garden, we had caused this brokenness and we had no idea as yet how it would be fixed?

