Image result for men and suicide

Recently, I overheard a boy say “o you said the S-word!

Now, I don’t 100% know which “s-word” the other child used but his friend was not impressed!

I have been thinking in the last few days about another “S-word” occasionally taboo, some people are very negative towards it and others are almost at the point, where it is the last word in their life!  Suicide is a devastating act, obviously for the person attempting and succeeding, but for those they leave behind, it shatters their world and leaves a massive whole in their lives!

There have been moments in my life, where I felt hopeless and suicidal, mainly because I could see no hope, but then I looked back at my earliest days on this planet, the numerous medical issues I had and the fact that I almost died on the operating table, yet I am still here, God kept me alive for a reason!

Stress is another “s-word“, one that is more used and talked about. I have suffered with it in the past, it wasn’t handled well and I was off work for a month! Lots of things can cause us stress:-

  • work,
  • family life,
  • children
  • pressures of other commitments.

Some people thrive on stress, others crumble. The bible tells us to “cast our burdens onto Jesus for he cares”, “his yoke is easy” and if we allow Jesus to share our burdens, he will help us cope with the situations we find ourselves in.  Some people allow one thing after another to stress them out, it causes them so much heartache, that they see no other solution but to “end it all” even to the extent of deluding themselves in thinking that their family and friends would be better off without them!

My favourite “s-word” is “Saviour“, Jesus is my Saviour, he saves us from ourselves, we may behave and do things that will cause ourselves stress, we worry about little things  and we worry about the big things. Jesus is always waiting for us to say “HELP ME!!!” I believe God created the world, all things are in his hands, when we forget that, we lose sight of the wonderful things that there are in life!

I wrote about Robin Williams a few years ago, when celebrities like him commit suicide, there is shock and sadness. There is confusion, as the previous day, they may have been happy playing board games with their spouse and kids or doing a charity run. But none of that seems to matter when depression and despair have clouded their hearts and minds.

One of the best things that you can do, if you are feeling stressed or suicidal, is to talk to someone, let them give you some perspective. Don’t give up, as things will never get better if you give in! Things can only improve if you ask for help, get support and look for things that bring you joy each day.

I truly believe that the best thing you can do, is shout to God for help , ask Jesus Christ to step in and take control of the situation as you are at rock bottom and he is waiting to lift you back up again!