It’s a Classic question to get people thinking about their future or the future of a project/idea. When I was in school I had no idea, I think I may have said previously in a post that I almost felt suicidal in despair over the prospect of having no idea!

I spent the day at one of my old schools, working and suddenly felt a little nostalgic until I remembered how I felt, sure there were great memories, and sure there were some not so great ones but I was aware of God, all the time!

Quite often I start something and then wonder if I will succeed and almost fall back and let someone else take control, sometimes it’s a human other times it’s God! I am not saying it’s always a good thing and sometimes it can be if you are unsure to get a second opinion. However, I am aware sometimes that I don’t take as much responsibility and maintain that as much as I would like to.

There is a balance between “heavy is the head that wears the crown” and “laissez-faire” attitudes. The church that I attend has a great family atmosphere, I have said numerous times how much I love them. The young adults (18+) are increasing in number and getting more involved in our church.

The one problem I have and feel like I need to “own” is the number of children who attend our services on a Sunday is not so numerous or regular. It makes me feel like a failure, which is not a feeling I enjoy as i struggled enough with those feelings when I was younger!

To an extent, I and my volunteers need to work on ways to make our sessions engaging and attractive for the children to want to return for the next week. But that isn’t the point! I am also aware of my limits and that I need to make sure God has his part, not so much inviting him to be involved, but praying that he is in the centre of the planning, thinking and in every session.

I don’t know about other preachers, leaders or people with other responsibilities in churches. But I am usually in a rush to get to church and the first thing on my mind isn’t always “I need to pray”, more often than not it will be “o I need to set up and get the bits ready” or “what songs are we doing this week and will I be able to drum to them?!”

I felt challenged last week to make more of a concerted effort to pray for the children’s work and all that we do. Can I challenge you, if you have read this far to pray for your church, your leaders or if you are in responsibility of something to pray for that which you are responsible for, god is waiting to be asked, and is already working on it anyway!!